Changes to Upvise licensing

We have switched to a less restrictive licensing scheme. We now enforce licenses on application access and not at account level.

Previously an Upvise account was either a free personal account or a business account with a 30-day trial. At expiration of the trial, business account users could no longer sign in to their account and access any of their applications. Accounts are now all free, and users can continue to use all free applications. When you sign up for an account, you can choose to have personal or business apps preloaded into your account, but you can also add on any of the applications that are available in the Upvise catalog.

Some applications are free and some require a premium access license. The first time a premium application is added to an account, the user automatically gets a free 30-day trial. At the end of the trial, the user has to purchase a premium access license ($49/year/user) in order to continue accessing premium apps. The license also gives access to additional security features and the backup and restore functionality. If the user decides not to acquire a license, he can still log on to his account and use free applications.

To date the list of premium and free apps is as follows:

Free applications: Contacts, Notebooks, RSS News, Wikipedia, Shopping Lists

Premium applications: Projects, Tasks, Sales, Ideas

Advertisements

One thought on “Changes to Upvise licensing

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s